Monthly Archives: January 2017

Listen Today!


Just a quick note to invite you to listen today at 1 p.m. CT time (noon here in Denver) to the Truest Voice. Host Sharen Watson and I will talk about the journey of freedom, what it’s like to be a writer, and lots of good stuff. Just follow this link!


New URL & Fun Announcement!

If you’ve signed up to receive my blog posts, they should continue without interruption. However, if you saved my blog address to check in here and there, please know this has changed! is now

Hopefully it will be easier for people to find my blog who have already found my website ( and visa-versa!

contract-signingWhile I’m sharing basic information, I have a  fun announcement: I just signed a contract with Barbour Publishing!

My story will be included in a novella collection releasing January 2018. The working title for this historical romance collection is, A Bouquet of Brides, and I’m honored to write alongside several dear friends. My heroine is the daughter of the owner of a general story. They call her Dilly. I can’t wait for you to meet her in At Home with Daffodils, which is the working title of my novella.

After the intensity of writing and releasing the four Soul Scents books last year, this fun project is very welcome. God is good!

(Please note the glasses in this picture. Yes, my 51 year-old eyes now need readers to even sign my name! Ha!)

Speaking of last year, all four Soul Scents books are available on in paperback and electronic formats. If you’re considering joining me this year in discovering deeper intimacy with Christ through this series, read on down to see which book is for you. If you read all four, you’ll have devotional reading for a year, but I’ve also found that different books are right for different readers depending on the season they are in.

Here are the descriptions. 🙂

The Soul Scents collection invites readers into an ever-deepening discovery of who God is
and how He interacts with us. Combined, its four volumes—Awaken, Rooted, Bloom, and Flourish—offer a year’s worth of devotional reading. Each book has thirteen weeks of
down-to-earth insight gleaned from Scripture and the author’s journey PMApprov1-01into spiritual freedom.  The week-day readings include Scriptures and prayers. Rest in the Son’s embrace as you enter the beautiful heart of the Freedom Giver Himself.

The first book, Soul Scents: Awaken, invites readers to awaken to a more PMApprov2-01intimate, peaceful relationship with God.

Become rooted in your identity as the beloved! Soul Scents: Rooted, the second book in the Soul Scents devotional series, includes topics such as worthiness, spiritual battle, and destiny.

In His presence we bloom in sunshine and storm. His Spirit carries us through the struggle, offering the love, strength, and wisdom we need
PMApprov3-01 for the times of trial. In the joyous seasons, His smile deepens our pleasure.  Bloom in season and out as you journey with Soul Scents: Bloom.

At just the right time in history God sent His beloved Son to set the captives free and claim victory over the darkness. At just the right time in each life God shows His child how to step into the freedom He already won.

rsz_pmapprov4-01Lie weeds twist around the good plantings of our heart, choking abundant life, but when we step into truth, the tendrils of that vile weed uncurl. In this fourth volume of the Soul Scents series, Soul Scents: Flourish, Paula talks about her journey out of emotional, verbal, and spiritual abuse.  She says, “As God reveals how pain and abuse twists our understanding of who He is and how He works, the distrust falls away.  The root of the lie weed is exposed, and the Lord pulls that sucker out completely! In its place comes a deepened intimacy with Jesus and the joy we’ve prayed for but couldn’t find. We rise from the pain and live free to flourish.”

Take the Flourish journey and brave deeper healing, letting go of shame and learning to live as vibrant daughters of the King!

Thank you, friends, for continuing the journey with me,